Monday Mix Tape

This weeks particular mix up was inspired by the show I saw on Thursday, my morning runs in the rain, and seeing old faces.

Deer Tick

Ashamed – Deer Tick

Saw these guys a few months back right before they headed off to ACL I believe. Keep an eye on their upcoming Spring shows and be sure to catch another favorite of mine, Lubbock’s One Wolf, playing with them in April.

Thao with the Get Down Stay Down

Swimming Pools – Thao with The…

Love this entire album and love her.

Freelance Whales

Generator ^ First Floor – Free…

If their name was not already cool enough, their mix of music makes you just wish you were wandering around some kind of random junk store that had ukuleles and the like sitting around it. I’ll be seeing them in about 12 days along with the amazing She & Him. Words cannot express my excitement.

Electric President

Safe and Sound – Electric Pres…

I was introduced to Ben Cooper’s music by someone I used to know and have been quite a devout follower of him ever since. While carrying on more projects than a preschool arts and crafts teacher, I’m sticking with Electric President as my favorite because of the balance of soft melancholy music laced with raw and uncomfortably true lyrics. Recently I replaced my LP of his older work but am currently loving the new Violent Blue as something that feels comfortably the same and yet somehow refreshingly different at the same time.

Birds and Batteries

Out In The Woods – Birds & Bat…

Seeing them at the usual spot this Wednesday!! Good month for music man.

Leave a Reply

