Mixtape: Live Music Edition

This has been a busy week but to be honest I can’t even dare to complain. The one thing that makes me the happiest kid in the world is music and I’ve wandered into a gold mine. I obviously knew I was and it was a big reason for my falling in love with this city but I’m still fully in the honeymoon stage where I’m amazed at how many awesome shows I can cram into a 7 day time period without even really consciously trying.

Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter – The Curse

I wanted so badly to go to his show but there was about 36 other things going on randomly on a Monday so I opted to hit the Waterloo show instead which worked out fabulously because he decided to play for the entire hour rather than sign. I must say, I don’t know that I’ve ever seen a more jovial live artist ever in my life. He was literally smiling ear to ear the entirety of his show and you couldn’t help but be super happy just watching him and how excited he was about playing. Super impressive.

mewithoutYou

mewithoutYou – Gentlemen

I adore mewithoutYou. Their music occasionally makes my brain hurt if I think about it too long and I love that. I got so lucky I got to see this show via work and it just happened to be one of my top 10 bands. Read my more thorough mewithoutYou review on the Do512 blog.

Tokyo Police Club

Tokyo Police Club – Citizens of Tomorrow

“Well hi…we’re from…Canada.” This show was a sweet, killer, lucky, lucky deal for me and was quite frankly amazing. Everyone was there predominately to see Passion Pit but I wound up hanging out with some girl who drove all the way from Arizona just to see Tokyo so it worked out well.

Passion Pit

Passion Pit – The Reeling

Passion Pit killed it. I really don’t have anything else to elaborate on regarding them except they are a must see live band. Must.

Ume

Ume – The Conductor

Basking in the glow of the Passion Pit show we wandered over to the Do512 Girls Rock party where I was introduced to some really amazing local music including Ume. The lead singer, Lauren Larson, is one of those girls who you kinda sorta hate only because you totally wish you were her. She was completely amazing. Mildly reminiscent of Karen O in vocals but probably the exact opposite in appearance, Ume is definitely now on my list of shows to follow.

Leave a Reply

