The Stopping of Motion

Stop-motion: a filming technique in which successive positions of objects (as clay models) are photographed to produce the appearance of movement. First known use: 1912

I’m bad at resting but I’m trying to get better. I tend to fly around doing exorbitant amounts of tasks and, worse, I invent tasks to do if I have none. I am however, testing out the “new” and improved “hey you should stay in since it’s Monday and all” Rachel, and I have enjoyed revisiting stumbling into new and lovely things that are out there. I love stop motion videos. They are fascinating to me. It’s almost like the brain registers them in a way that makes more sense then stories where every facet of the situation being viewed is depicted with perfect articulation.

It’s in a format that was essentially shot, spliced and glue sticked back together, if you will, but doesn’t scream that it’s unnatural to the viewer. It strikes me as being the way I tend to perceive things in general I suppose. I don’t tend to concern myself extensively with little flickers or hand gestures but rather retain more distinct characteristics and blatant mood reflectors that come off of people in certain instances that define particular memory tapes of mine, to the point of owning them. Stop motion is seemingly capturing the moments, then, that are actually memorable.

Handing someone a gift for no reason, for example, would hypothetically assume that their reaction in general was that of surprise but it would be safe to say that a curious and semi-knowing look most likely flickered, unnoticed, prior to the obvious and expected expression of surprise, real or feigned. What did we learn from this? That I shouldn’t eat pizza before bed…and that I think about stop motion stuff too much. I’ve loved all of these a long time but you can find them all on Lily and the Muse.

 

One thought on “The Stopping of Motion

Leave a Reply

