Sparkle and Spunk are Sufficient Justifications for Rule Breaking

…at least that’s what I’ve come to learn. Before you think I’ve abandoned all of my tame tendencies, take into consideration that I’m currently only applying this statement to apparel/decor.  Here are two rules I have officially stopped being snobbish about (after years of fervently avoiding them) and why I think they are bunk.

1. The BIG one…black, brown and navy being worn together. I must be honest, I have looked down upon those who broke this sacred rule for years once laughing at a boy in the ninth grade for doing the three at once. Sigh, a mean girl I was. I now break this rule all the time. Silly rule.

via My Nerd Boyfriend

Because Bobbi Brown is brilliant and I have always believed that long before working for her

If Zooey can do it, it can be done. That’s a wrap up on that one.

 

2. The mixing of metals. Bronze with rose gold and a silver birdhouse ring to boot because why the heck not?

Emma Watson for Marie Claire

This awesome ring from the Jesse Danger Etsy Shop

This lovely little vanity set up from Lineatre. Yes please.

 

Dear rules, consider yourselves broken. If you have any rules for me to break that are law abiding and as tame as the things lying in a standard clothes addict’s closet let me know.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sparkle and Spunk are Sufficient Justifications for Rule Breaking

  1. I agree on all counts. I used to get frustrated with friends in college when they’d be all “You can’t wear black & brown at the same time!” & I would just say, “I don’t need your rules! Stop trying to cage my free spirit! I look amazing!”

    & I did.

    But they also thought that wearing white after Labor Day was still bad too…scoff!

  2. Nice! The only time white is an issue with me is when you’re wearing your hot pink undies that say “Monday” on the back of them under white pants and it’s actually Thursday. Otherwise…it’s whatev.

Leave a Reply

