The Daily Show With Rachel

I had quite an interesting surprise recently when the day before Thanksgiving I open my inbox scrambling to get some work done (oddly enough, prize giveaways) when I was notified by HerCatwalk that I was one of the winners for their fashion blogger contest. I kinda freaked. It’s odd because a large part of my job is giving away things. Tickets, bottle service etc etc but I honestly forgot how it feels to be on the other end until this and am still so excited! Lauren and I went gallivanting through Urban Outfitters with my $300 giftcard and landed some pretty fabulous new stuff. The article they posted is below:

The Daily Show With Rachel

By Michelle, on December 28th, 2010

Rachel Daily’s got great style.  Just ask Tieka of Selective Potential, HerCatwalk’s guest judge who picked Rachel in our Featured Catwalker contest.  Besides having a knack for vintage fashion, Rachel’s a PR enthusiast who loves all things Zooey (her Scottish pup, the actress, and the Salinger book).

Can you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m from Albuquerque originally, went to school at Texas Tech University, and was a makeup artist for Bobbi Brown Cosmetics for the duration of my time in school.  I now live in what I feel just may be the best city in the world, Austin, Texas where me and my little Scottie pup, Zooey, go on miscellaneous excursions.  I work for a company called Do512, which is a comprehensive resource of all events and activities going on in Austin.  I manage their content and online marketing.

Describe your signature style.

My signature style leans towards vintage classic with just a tiny bit of trendy thrown on top.  My favorite go to outfits consist of tights and girly dresses with a pair of vintage boots or chunky jewelry.

What does fashion/style mean to you?

Fashion has always been extremely fascinating to me because it’s a creative outlet more than anything.  When you walk into your closet and throw on nine things that you maybe wouldn’t naturally pick and it works, it’s awesome.  Style, on the other hand, is something that I feel like you learn to possess.  It’s the way you handle yourself, the way you present yourself, and the way you feel most confident about yourself; clothes, in that sense, are just icing on the cake.

If you could raid three fashion bloggers’ closets, who would you pick and why?

I’d have to say Kelly over at the Glamourai is first definitely.  She has Austin ties but besides that, honestly just  has the most beautiful blog and sense of style that it’s like reading a magazine.  Hers is easily the best wardrobe I may have ever seen.  Me and the other girls in my office are all mildly obsessed.

Mel over at Idee Geniale would be next because I can honestly say she was my gateway fashion blog and now I’m hooked.  She looks a bit similar to me and a friend sent me her blog because her style reminded them of things I wear which resulted me in getting a lot of ideas from her outfit picks.

Tieka over at Selective Potential would be the third.  Her blog is darling and we have similar styles and taste it seems.  She also has a lot of interesting stuff that she’ll occasionally writes about in addition to fashion and, in all honesty, is how I found out about HerCatwalk.

Three places/countries you’d like to visit for fashion inspiration

Italy, Russia, Denmark

I saw on twitter that you enjoy literature and author readings!  Is there a character in literature or a certain novel/poem that you’d love to see in real life?  (to see their fashion sense!) I’m a nerd about books and love the fact that you can make a character wear whatever you want in your mind.  I just remember when I read Franny and Zooey for the first time, the characters all just looked so casually polished in my head.  I really love the fashion in historical fiction books turned movies though.  That would have to be my favorite.

Check out Rachel’s blog, and follow her on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

