Beet Cakes & ‘Lil Red Shutters

It’s been a busy month. I have a new house *house house house!* with a yard and windows and light and little red shutters and a built in designated spot fit for a garden gnome named Barnaby. I love it. It’s been a bit moving in and while I’m still trying to get it all put together, I have grandiose ideas for it that will be put into action one paycheck at a time. So far I’ve managed an Anthropologie look alike vintage leather couch on Craigslist for a mere $40 (two digits for a couch! Please and thanks) and a vintage Ethan Allen leather chair with hardwood as the frame and a custard yellow cushioning so I’m hopeful to keep my frugal fabulous finds streak going.

Meanwhile, I’ve been doing the Love Cleanse with the office crew and can say that I can’t recall ever drinking this much hot tea when it’s 90 something degrees out as I have of late. I also have been eating an array of veggies for breakfast, lunch and dinner and while I’m doing my darnedest to not cheat, I’m excited for the occasional treat to be let back into my life. I am, however, going to kiss artificial sweeteners, processed foods and my stereotypical affinity for pasta goodbye for good after this. You can read more on the Austin based dietary cleanse here. As for my first post cleanse treat? I may take a crack at making beet cake.

If you are wary of a confection with beets in it, watch this video from Matt & Julie over at Tiger in a Jar and I swear to you you’ll be thinking it sounds rather promising too.

beet cake from tiger in a jar on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

