Breaking Up with Busy

This month I’ve decided to stop saying busy. I’m not saying it to my friends. I’m not saying it to people who I haven’t responded to in emails for over two days. I’m not saying it to people that I barely know or just met to explain away why I didn’t answer a text at 4 in the afternoon. It really is a boring and incredibly predictable answer, and when I started to think about how much I hated when people told me “I’m just soooo busy,” I realized I was maybe the worst of them all. Not slowing down, not changing schedules, not altering obligations…just breaking up with busy.

I haven’t slept in seven nights and I’m not tired
who protects the ones I love when I’m asleep?
and though there’s little I can do, I say a prayer

that when the wolves come for their share

they’ll come for me. 

Morton’s Fork – Typhoon

photo by DesignLoveFest

Busyness serves as a kind of existential reassurance, a hedge against emptiness; obviously your life cannot possibly be silly or trivial or meaningless if you are so busy, completely booked, in demand every hour of the day… I can’t help but wonder whether all this histrionic exhaustion isn’t a way of covering up the fact that most of what we do doesn’t matter.The Busy Trap

“I’ve been crazy busy,” has become the new professional apology, and asks, “How on earth did we arrive at the crossroads of manageable busy and clinical insanity?” —J.D. Gershein

The problem with being “crazy busy” is that it does not allow freewheeling thought. Think of the bright ideas you’ve had when you were washing your face, or even sound asleep. A recent article in The New York Times titled “The ‘Busy’ Trap” points out: “History is full of stories of inspirations that come in idle moments and dreams. It almost makes you wonder whether loafers, goldbricks, and no-accounts aren’t responsible for more of the world’s great ideas, inventions, and masterpieces than the hardworking.” – INC.com

Leave a Reply

