Write Bloody Publishing – The Best Little Wordhouse

fearless

Knowledge is power and I need more of it because I’m starting this year a little bit uninspired and trying to rally. There was no special delivery box of creative ideas or ways to move forward this year unfortunately and really, why would there have been? There was a delivery box of cute rice bowls and miniature scarves but that’s another story entirely. The very idea of resolutions has doomed me from the start.

I’m hoping to hit my stride right around the 15th when the other resolutioners start slowing their gym attendance and potato chip sales the world over return to normal. What I have discovered this year so far that I’m extremely pleased about is Write Bloody Publishing.

20130109-104444.jpg

A widely acclaimed small publishing house right here in Austin, Write Bloody Wordhouse caught our eye as we were perusing the east side for new and lovely things. Passing over the grease at Juan in a Million, we headed behind it to the yellow and red building with dancing letters across the facade. Once inside, Derrick helped direct us to good starter volumes for us from his shop of snappy, beautifully covered and titled books.

You can find out more about how Write Bloody got started as well as request a copy of their online catalog. Here’s what we started with:

lastamerican

The Last American Valentine: Illustrated Poems to Seduce and Destroy

THE QUIET WORLD
by Jeffrey McDaniel

In an effort to get people to look
into each other’s eyes more,
the government has decided to allot
each person exactly one hundred
and sixty-seven words, per day.

When the phone rings, I put it
to my ear without saying hello.
In the restaurant I point
at chicken noodle soup. I am
adjusting well to the new way.

Late at night, I call my long
distance lover and proudly say
I only used fi fty-nine today.
I saved the rest for you.

When she doesn’t respond, I know
she’s used up all her words
so I slowly whisper I love you,
thirty-two and a third times.
After that, we just sit on the line

and listen to each other breathe.

timebomb

Next up: Over the Anvil, We Stretch, The Madness Vase, Live for a Living

Leave a Reply

