Most Who Wander Are Probably Entirely Lost, Actually.

ships

Not all who wander are lost is one of those phrases that’s been tattooed on wrists, bags, socks and inspo notepads for when you get inspoed everywhere for years and years with no foreseeable end. It’s cute sure. Doesn’t really make much sense, no. My theory is actually that all who wander are probably most definitely 100% pretty much entirely uber badoober lost.

Questioning the negative connotation of lost is I guess what I see in that phrase. As I was feeling nice and crazy the other day, I started discussing the house/car/job/city/moving life situation with my handsome voice of reason. How his unrelenting patience and ability to actually talk me into calm without a condescending phrase ever leaving his face exists, I don’t know. What I do know, is after a conversation that started with my brain feeling like it was breaking, I realized there was no shame in actually just pumping the brakes.

Follow that up with what landed in my inbox moments later from 99U and I realize that my Type A “on to the next one” personality always thrived in a checkbox setting. Making lists to make lists to buy these things and do these things and think these things and by this date and read these things and talk about them then again here things is my jam. Take away the lists, the checkboxes, the pre-determined goals and what do you have? You have a whole lot of options and a lot of little bike trails and now you just have to pick where the heck you’re going to drop yourself. House, ok. New job – fine. Marriage – not terrifying anymore. Learn Spanish, try. Make money – eh maybe someday. Austin……………..eh? That hit me hard the past month. I have options and while I love this city, I don’t have to stay here. I don’t think I want to. It would be too easy.

And where to go? Being lost means having options. I think being found sounds like the most horrible thing ever.

Eventually the existing skills will become outmoded. Working backwards … demands that we acquire new competencies and exercise new muscles, never mind how uncomfortable and awkward-feeling those first steps might be.- Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos

Leave a Reply

