Revelations for 2015

Can’t Shine if You’re Throwin’ Shade: Revelations for 2015

I don’t really do the whole lose 12 pounds or save more money resolution thing. What I do try to focus on is the lessons I learned the previous year and take them into the next one to help me reach all my goals on a bigger picture scale. Here’s my takeaways from lessons learned in 2014.

1. Create a life that feels good on the inside, not one that just looks good on the outside. Replacing the newsfeed selfies, the overwhelming narcissism, and the obsession with perfectly curated Instagram feeds, and acknowledging that which is real and imperfect as being awesome instead is number one. Sometimes that means leaving certain people in your life behind in real life, not just on the internet.

 

instagram

 

 

2. A job does not define you. The first thing anyone asks at parties, when they meet you, when you go back to your old home, or when you’re even just casually sitting next to someone on an airplane is, “what do you do?” While it might be small talk for some, I find it either opens the door to the “what can you do for me?” conversation or lends itself to a presumptuous follow up statement about your career choices. It’s rarely a genuine conversation piece. Also in this category is to maintain side hustles. No one should ever only have their 9-5 mold them.

hustle

 

3. Guard your time fiercely. You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with. This is back to not spending time with people that tear you down or waste your energy on emotional self obsessed meltdown outings once a week. Time is something you can’t get back. You can’t buy more of it and you can’t un-waste it. It has taken me years to learn how to say no but now – I say no. I also find that guarding my time saves me a lot of $$$. Kindness is crucial. Martyrdom is frivolous.

fiercely

 

4. Sleep more. I love to work late. I love it. I will always love it but I have learned to clock out and that sleeping lets me get 10x more done the next day. No screens after 10:30 pm. GASP!

sleepgirl

 

 

5. What would Rory Gilmore do? She would work on her coding homework, learn a new skill, take free online classes from Harvard, read a book, drink more coffee, call her mom and grandparents, and take the experiential trip to Europe over luxury furniture for her apartment every time. Rory for president. Be like Rory.

rory

Leave a Reply

